Bubble and Squeak

Bubble and Squeak with Sausages

Today I decided that at university this term I needed to be more healthy and have a go at cooking more. So for dinner with cabbage, spring onions, potatoes, butter, salt, pepper and a bit of flour to hand, I decided to try making bubble and squeak for the first time. The process took me three hours. Yeah…

It took me about half-an-hour to peel the potatoes. Then I boiled and mashed them and then handled a savoy cabbage for the first time – that went well and didn’t take long! Spring onions easy (my parents grew them when I was younger)… now I was cooking for three so the forming them into patties with the flour took a while. 14 patties in all! Then it had to chill in the fridge for an hour so it took form and didn’t fall apart, and after that fry them in vegetable oil. Florence got some sausages to go with them and put them in the oven while we were waiting and frying, and it all filled us up.

It went well and it all tasted nice and the bubble and squeak was certainly good for us. But although I enjoyed the two-hours of cooking and the one-hour of washing up and having a coffee (and a minor flour fight with Florence), it was a rather long-process for a few vegetable patties. Tomorrow I think I’ll stick to a salad and a jacket potato so I get a bit more studying done. 😀

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bubble and Squeak

  1. Simon Marsh says:

    Understood! – but wow, do they look good :). Well done!

  2. barry clarke says:

    They certainly do look good we’ll get you to cook some for us next time you’re home, I’ll do the washing up ! BC and N

Leave a Reply

