DDO and Driving

Yesterday I headed over to Chester for my first meeting with the DDO (Diocesan Director of Ordinands) of Chester. It went very well, and I enjoyed talking with him about many things such as priesthood, vocation, prayer… and I hadn’t been inside Chester Cathedral before, so it was great after the meeting to walk around and look. The centre of it is darker and with the image of the crucified Jesus it reminded me that God was present in the harder times of life, but the Cathedral is also surrounded by walls and paintings of colour, reminding us to look all around us, for beauty is always to be seen and sometimes we are too distracted to see it. And then kneeling by the altar in a moments prayer I imagined that perhaps in five years I may end up kneeling in that same place, walking out ordained. I joked then with my parish priest as he pointed out to me where the exit door is – right opposite is a big McDonalds. How fun it would be to run over in celebration with lots of other robed up newly ordained deacons/priests to get chicken nuggets, chips and strawberry milkshakes. ๐Ÿ˜€

This morning another big moment: passed my driving test, and with only one minor fault! Thrilled that that’s sorted. And with heading down on Saturday to begin life in university as a TSD Lampeter Fresher, a lot of things are happening this week…

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to DDO and Driving

  1. Pingback: THE TASK | Simon Marsh

  2. Simon Marsh says:

    Congratulations! Very well done. Being able to drive is such a marvellous thing ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. pauldeakin says:

    Hey fantastic news on all counts. Well done. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

