Be Opened

This morning I preached my last sermon in my Home Parish before I head off to study in university. As usual the sound system (soon to be replaced) was playing up so I had to use a hand-held microphone, but it carried the sound well enough, so yay for that! It was great to be out of the pulpit, preaching without a script, on the ground amongst the congregation, thinking deeply together as well as laughing. Without any notes I was free to “be open”, which was the theme of my sermon and the centre of our Gospel reading today…

Mark 7.31-35
Then he returned from the region of Tyre, and went by way of Sidon towards the Sea of Galilee, in the region of the Decapolis. They brought to him a deaf man who had an impediment in his speech; and they begged him to lay his hand on him. He took him aside in private, away from the crowd, and put his fingers into his ears, and he spat and touched his tongue. Then looking up to heaven, he sighed and said to him, ‘Ephphatha’, that is, ‘Be opened.’ And immediately his ears were opened, his tongue was released, and he spoke plainly.

Because I spoke without a script I can’t post up what was said, but here’s a couple of points…

Jesus opened the man’s ears and mouth, we too must learn to listen to the still small voice, to one another, to the world, and learn to communicate properly.

If you do not believe in the occasional divine intervention (Into your hands O Lord I commend my Spirit) then know that in every moment there is a simple choice: to be at peace or to be at war with what is.

Be open, trust in God, live, love…

Thanks to Fr Simon for posting about me and my sermon here

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Sermons (My Own) and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Be Opened

  1. enitsirk24 says:

    You are such a great vessel for God. Your openness to His leading inspires me to be more open to God.

  2. Vernon Lund says:

    Hi Rachael. I wish you great blessings as you start your university years. I have fond memories of Lampeter because when I was a theological College student in the 1960s at Wells, I was part of a team who helped lead a Bath and Wells Diocesan youth camp at Lampeter during the summer. Of course my years at Wells, were the most formative years of my life and I look back with great thanksgiving. I wish you blessings at university and then on to whichever theological college you join. God bless. Vernon

    • Rachael Eliz says:

      Loving the look of your website Vernon! Thanks for commenting. So far I’m thinking Westcott for theological college, but who knows where God will take me, I’m open… (:

      • Vernon Lund says:

        I hear great things about Westcott these days. I will continue to follow your comments and insights with prayer and interest. Thanks for your affirming comment on my web site. Vernon

  3. Well done for preaching and hope university goes well

Leave a Reply

