University Life Approaching…

I get my A-Level results next Thursday, on the 16th of August. And for the most part me and others awaiting results are trying not to think about all the details too much, simply because of waiting to see if we are into our first choice of university or our second.

I happily put Durham University as my first choice. A great university, a beautiful city, a homely atmosphere. I’d love very much to go there. But I’m a believer – although I won’t always admit this – in God intervening to get us where we need to be when big moments like this come up. And if I ended up heading to my second university choice, I would see it as a kind of fate.

And you know, Trinity St David’s Lampeter university was a great place too. I spent a few days there and met some amazing people, said hello to some sheep and new-born lambs in the hills, went to Taizé, won the quiz in the student bar. Oh and I had lunch with the chaplain and a monk. Pretty cool stuff.

The world is full of beautiful places. And sometimes people see universities as something which is a drag on human creativity, which holds back passion and tells people to be safe rather than to jump, to pass this exam and enter a job for money in a never-ending cycle.

But Real university is not like that. It is full of possibilities. So I’m completely at peace with my upcoming results day, because I know that wherever I end up I’m going to be happy, and that God is going to help me get there now I’ve done my bit and studied hard!

I’m looking forward to keeping on learning with other students and professors – I’ve always believed we teach each other, learning is not a one-way process – and I’m looking forward to developing as a person in groups. I’d like to try fishing I’ve never done that, I’d like to join a conservation group and plant a few trees (not that I think that would be necessary in Lampeter mind :P), I want to give out free hugs, talk about Harry Potter, watch Harry Potter, listen to music, engage in philosophical discussions, take some photos, write some poems, help some people, and keep dreaming.

So for all that us students can get anxious about examinations and finance, university and true education in all its forms is not about a statistic. It’s about development, creativity, passion, life…

This entry was posted in *Favourites*, Deep Thinking, Harry Potter and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to University Life Approaching…

  1. PJH says:

    Every moment you have a choice – to be at peace or to be in resistance. When you are at peace you attract positive energy and when you resist you create negative vibes that reflect back on your being. It’s a simple choice.

  2. I have nominated you for a very Inspiring Blog Award. The nomination is at http://davidherbert.me/2012/08/09/a-most-inspiring-award/

Leave a Reply

