Contentment

A lovely confirmation service tonight  in St Marys Stockport with 22 being confirmed, 9 from my parish church.

Bishop Robert’s sermon was completely different to the one he preached at my confirmation in December 2010, and yet was as well spoken and had a lovely strong message to it tonight. The message at my confirmation had been of not being afraid. The message at the confirmation tonight was one of being happy – being contented. And shining in Christ’s light, remembering his message, being at peace in faith. Trusting more in love than in material possessions.

Two parts to contentment +Robert described. The first, thanksgiving. In our prayer, counting our blessings, we are turned outwards, and feelings of jealously and resentment are removed. The second is repentance. We must be open to guidance and direction, allowing ourselves to be forgiven, and knowing when we are wrong.

And it was suitable then, to have the gentle choir and organist sing and play…

Abba Father, let me be
Yours and Yours alone.
May my will for ever be
evermore your own.
Never let my heart grow cold,
never let me go,
Abba, Father, let me be
Yours and Yours alone. 

This entry was posted in Christianity, Deep Thinking, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Contentment

  1. enitsirk24 says:

    Whenever the words of contentment roll off my lips on regards to the material life, something bad happens and I am shaken out of that feeling. Saying that I am content in God shakes up my relationship with him as well. The difference lies in the Holy shake up is a growth in faith. Shake ups in material things remind me to look to Him for contentment.

    Does that make sense?

    • Rachael Eliz says:

      Yes! 🙂 “What is born of the flesh is flesh, what is born of the Spirit is Spirit” – this idea that spiritual connections and growth in faith are far more valuable than material gatherings, and bring our bodies and selves joy where merchandise cannot…

Leave a Reply

