Summer Freedom

Yesterday I sat my final exam, and now I have at least ten blissful weeks off to recover, to read, and to relax. A few jobs to do here and there, but as a student this is the one time of the year where I’m really free for more than a few days to simply be. I could definitely spend half of it sleeping though… 🙂

I hope you like the image I found. In it I see my hand reaching into water of life and to the summer sky, and I see myself unravelling as I unwind, as I relax. I see in the art myself becoming once again more at one with my surroundings, and with myself. The pressures of examinations are over for now. And it’s nice to know I’ll have time to visit the donkeys in the nearby farm, to walk to the park, to read, to write, to sleep, to simply be, breathing and connecting with God and my surroundings, peaceful.

Also of course I will be making the most of the time I have with dear local friends before heading off to university, where the idea of examinations and coursework seems a far more enjoyable one, with Theology a subject I love and am passionate about, and life in Durham with Choral Evensong in the Cathedral a few steps from my room, or in Lampeter (Wales) with the sheep and the hills and the taizé services only a few steps away too…

This entry was posted in Other and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Summer Freedom

  1. I hope you enjoy your time of freedom and relaxation.

Leave a Reply

