Original Beauty

Oh I’m enjoying this time off. Back to studying on Monday but these two days (and looking forward to tomorrow) have been wonderful, and I’m looking forward to a long summer after my final A-Level exam.

What have I done today? Well I posted the second video in the “Dictionary Game” series first thing, then jotted down some memorable quotes I might play around with at some point, read more of The Art of Happiness, listened to music and discovered a new artist (Eef Barzelay), saw a film (The Yellow Handkerchief), meditated, chatted, laughed, smiled, ate pizza.

An evening catching up on my pile of “Church Times” newspapers, and I’m now on 5th April edition (quite behind). First two pages on primary schools, and I’ve found I’m disagreeing with the Archbishop. Respected and wonderful I value his view and understand it, but I don’t think that its necessary for all 6-12 year olds to know the words of The Lord’s Prayer.

I hadn’t been in a church until I was 15, and if schools had made me say it repetitively before then I would probably have seen it as something annoying (like when I had to sit through half-an-hour of Hail Marys and now I cringe every time I hear it). My primary school was heavenly. I really can’t tell you how fortunate I was, every teacher was great, and there was a lovely field and all the children got on. Thirty kids to a year, all in the same classes together for six years, coming together for assembly every Friday (entering to the music of Swan Lake).

I found God there even if I didn’t call it God at first. And the Lord’s Prayer as a task made to memorise wouldn’t have been good for me. It’s important to me now, but I’m glad I discovered it and learnt the words in the time that I needed them.

Rowan’s argument is that youngsters should be taught it and taught why its important and then they can choose whether or not to use it then and in later life.

But why learn words? Ladybrook Primary School taught me about the action of compassion and love, and we sang but it was the energy and the togetherness that brought us into “communion” there, and God knows I can’t made head nor tail of the King James Version of the Bible now (despite the fact I’m beginning to read the New Testament in Greek) so I don’t know how I’d have got my head around the Lord’s Prayer then.

Our Father, Who art in heaven, Hallowed be Thy Name. Thy Kingdom come. Thy Will be done, on earth as it is in Heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our trespasses, as we forgive those who trespass against us. And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil. For thine is the kingdom, the power and the glory, forever and ever. Amen.

I find that children, blossoming in their beauty before adults get a chance to hurt and infect them with tall tales, can teach us far more than we them. As I love William Blake, I believe that we are born good. Original Beauty not Original Sin.

Matthew 19:14 but Jesus said, ‘Let the little children come to me, and do not stop them; for it is to such as these that the kingdom of heaven belongs.

I do love the Lord’s Prayer. But I don’t think its necessary for all children to know the words. What is necessary is to making a great effort to show them love. That’s all there is to life. To happiness. I’ve read 180 pages on the Dalai Lama so far and I think he’s brilliant and his analogies and stories are wonderful, but I can’t help but sympathise with him when he has to answer questions over and over again.

I suppose I’m rather a simplistic soul. How must we live? What must we tell our children? To love and be loved.

I’d support putting the Lord’s Prayer up in a corner for children to go and read and use if they wished. But I suppose before we can ever really understand the Lord’s Prayer, we have to discover our own prayer. And in that discovery of self beauty and worldly connection, we discover that we have rather similar visions.

This entry was posted in *Favourites*, Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Deep Thinking, Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

