Surrexit Dominus Vere

The Lord is risen indeed! Alleluia!

I had the “this is the day that Lord has made” song in my head for a while yesterday morning as I tapped out an Easter Day blog, but since lunchtime I’ve been remembering and singing Surrexit Dominus Vere, Surrexit Christus Hodie, Alleluia! Our priest sang it on Easter Day morn, and on Easter Eve at a beautiful service of light. The first half of the Easter Eve service I found rather too Catholic (too stiff for me with a server marching down the aisle with the paschal candle and then the priest saying lines from the book we all had to have our noses in), but the second half I loved. Once we had lit the paschal fire and from the paschal candle lit our own small candles, it became beautiful. Because it became intimate. A communion without the bread and the wine. We renewed our baptismal vows and had water splashed on us (which made me giggle) and then after the gorgeous organ fanfare we sang joyfully. As we smiled. From then on when we said lines from the book it was a happy guide, spoken with enthusiasm and hearts lifted up.

So you’d think that not liking the particularly high Catholic elements of the Easter Eve service in my Anglican church would mean I didn’t like the Latin chants. But I loved them actually. I love languages. On some occasions I find myself to be more Catholic than my church, and on some occasions I find it too Catholic for me. Funny how that works eh? We all like different things, what comes next is respecting other people’s loves and embracing theirs as we embrace our own, to make communion communicative…

This entry was posted in Christianity, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

