Lent 2012: Day Thirty

John 10:38 But if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, so that you may know and understand that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.

I’ve read lots of passages over the last few days which describe Jesus being rejected by people around him. In today’s verse Jesus asks the people who do not believe in him to believe in his works, to believe in his vision and his works for love. And he asks us to understand that as God is in him and he is in God, we are too. This reminded me of my recent writing in an assessment on religious poetry…

The poetry of William Blake and Robert Frost describe the idea of God as representing the meaning of life, the source of life’s goodness… Blake and Frost both follow the theology of the Greek ‘panentheos’ – God in everything. Some non-religious readers may find it difficult to enjoy their religious poetry, but some will appreciate it. Their poetry is about God, but they believe God to be Love. The poetry, then, can be seen not simply as religious, but as philosophical. Non-religious readers may see Blake and Frost’s God as the source of life which to them is the sharing of humanity, the sense of human equality. On the other hand, some religious people – fundamentalists, conservatives, those who follow archetypal law – would not appreciate this kind of religious poetry. So, then, the religious poetry which abides by panentheism, will appeal to those with a belief in selfless love…

I hope I can share God’s vision, and continue to to be a disciple (a learner). And I hope that as a philosopher, and as a Liberal-minded soul, I can help to promote peace, and equality amongst diversity…

John 10:38 But if I do them, even though you do not believe me, believe the works, so that you may know and understand that the Father is in me and I am in the Father.

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Deep Thinking, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

