Lent 2012: Day Eight

Psalm 27:7 The Lord is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts; so I am helped, and my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.

The wilderness places we need to wander into sometimes to be still are very important. But there’s a time for singing too. Reading these verse reminded me of something. On the second anniversary of my baptism I entered my Home Parish Church alone (I have a key), and after re-lighting my baptism candle and reflecting, walked around the Church (and then skipped) singing in Hebrew (from The Prince of Egypt):

A-shi-ra la-do-nai ki ga-oh ga-ah
A-shi-ra la-do-nai ki ga-oh ga-ah
Mi-cha-mo-cha ba-elim adonai
Mi-ka-mo-cha ne-dar- ba-ko-desh
Na-chi-tah v-chas-d-cha am zu ga-al-ta
Na-chi-tah v-chas-d-cha am zu ga-al-ta
A-shi-ra, a-shi-ra, a-shi-ra…

(I will sing to the Lord, for he has triumphed gloriously
I will sing to the Lord, for he has triumphed gloriously
Who is like You, oh Lord, among the celestial
Who is like You, majestic in holiness
In Your love, You lead the people You redeemed
In Your love, You lead the people You redeemed
I will sing, I will sing, I will sing)

Psalm 27:7 The Lord is my strength and my shield; in him my heart trusts; so I am helped, and my heart exults, and with my song I give thanks to him.

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

