Lent 2012: Day Three

Psalm 31:3 KJV For thou art my rock and my fortress; therefore for thy name’s sake lead me, and guide me.

Written before Jesus’ time the Psalmist (one of the Psalmists?) wrote this verse. I’ve taken it from the King James Version today, for I’m familiar with this verse in that version, and think it sounds far more poetic and lovely, whilst remaining understandable (KJV can get confusing!).

I can imagine this being a verse Jesus would have recalled whilst in the wilderness. Lead me Father, guide me, keep me strong.

For thy name’s sake? What is God the Father’s name? There are many names. I can’t pretend to be an expert on names in the Bible, but tend to think that we should know more about them. Father for example is only one name for God, and the feminine Ruach in the Genesis, the beginning of things, I think needs to be paid a little more attention to. Not because I’m an ultra-feminist, but because I believe in equality and don’t believe that we should bottle God in terms we are certain about. Because we aren’t all-knowing, and because experience in the Bible and in modern life is so often described as “ineffable.” I find when praying that I use so many different names, not just from the Bible but from my own vocabulary. I think then, to sum up, the name of Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end of the Greek alphabet, of all things, is rather fitting.

Now more on Ruach before I start rambling on about Greek. Ruach is a Hebrew word for the Holy Spirit, translating as breath. The breath which was there are the beginning, the breath which uproots us and is a constant energy source in our lives which keeps us going.

And so I come back to the Psalmist. For thy name’s sake. For life’s sake, for the world’s sake, for the sake of all those who exist in the earthly kingdom and beyond, lead me and guide me and help me to make this world ever more beautiful.

Psalm 31:3 KJV For thou art my rock and my fortress; therefore for thy name’s sake lead me, and guide me.

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

