Send Forth Your Spirit O Lord

11am Solemn Sung Eucharist in the University Chapel was great. A great choir, and I thought during the service that it was basically very good Choral Evensong with communion and a sermon added to it. Lovely.

The singing of the response at points in the Psalm (104) was lovely. “Send forth your Spirit, O Lord, and renew the face of the earth.” Reminded me of how we transfigure our world, and this in turn reminded me of my upcoming sermon.

The Gospel reading of John 1:1-14 reminded me of Richard Byrd saying that we were born into cosmos not chaos. We really do need to slow down as the human race and stop making everything more complicated than it needs to be.

The three hymns sung by us all were “All praise to thee for thou O King divine”“Lord of beauty thine the splendour” and “Light of the minds that know him”. All wonderful.

Whilst it was Book of Common Prayer Church in Wales, it was very similar to the Common Worship Church of England service in my Home Parish. There was a bit too much standing up though I must say!

At coffee time I met Vikki. Only a year older than me, she was studying in her first year of a Theology degree, and – like me – wanted to become a priest in the Anglican Church. After a good chat she invited me to the 6:30pm taizé service, the pub quiz in the S.U. bar, and to halls. Should be great!

Lunch then with Fr Matthew (the chaplain), his wife, his two children, and the guest preacher (a very good sermon) of Dom Aidan Bellenger. Talked a bit of theology, but had a laugh as well. The view from their house was lovely.

Once I got back to my room (with a couple of hours before heading out to taizé etc), I read – as I have done and will do each day this year – the lections. Psalm 65: 12-13 came up today…

The pastures of the wilderness overflow,
the hills gird themselves with joy,
the meadows clothe themselves with flocks,
the valleys deck themselves with grain,
they shout and sing together for joy.

Yes they do! 😀

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Music, Photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

