The Accordion

The Accordion. An instrument I had come to associate with street musicians and the French, I was surprised to hear it sounding through the wall between my house and my next-door neighbours as they celebrated a Happy Birthday.

Many songs both classic and Christmas-themed sounded out, with brief intervals, for about 4 hours. It reminded me a bit of the Titanic party scene below decks, and for a time I found myself sat next to the wall smiling and listening. Listening to the sounds of the accordion and the violin with it, and hands beating on tables and voices singing, I was amazed by the music. Who ever knew the accordion and the violin could work so beautifully together for a rendition of Jingle Bells, or Auld Lang Syne?

A lovely accompaniment to my Classical Civilisation study work. Come back tomorrow? 🙂

I remember watching the French film Amelie in high school, so my Song of the Week comes a day early, with accordion:


My eyes continue to open to the wonders of our world. I continue to grow with God, to learn. Yesterday of nature, today of sound. I’m open to new beautiful discoveries. May we all be. I certainly don’t want to be like one of the snooty upper class people of the Titanic smoking, drinking brandy and making sure they get the first lifeboat. The world is (can be, could be) a beautiful place. The world is full of beautiful people. So have a dance, a laugh, come together, and be peaceful…

John 14:27: Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled, and do not let them be afraid.

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Accordion

  1. enitsirk24 says:

    Let there be peace on earth, and let it begin with me.

Leave a Reply

