A Year On

This time last year I was being confirmed in St Anne’s Church!

Now still in Bramhall (for about 9 more months), I’ve lit my first communion candle again and had a look back at the confirmation order paper.

Some of the final words of the Bishop have come back to me over and over again this year:

“God has delivered us from the dominion of darkness and has given us a place with the saints in light. You have received the light of Christ; walk in this light all the days of your life. Shine as a light in the world to the glory of God the Father.”

I kept all my confirmation cards too in a little box under my bed, and pulled them out tonight to have a look over. Many lovely cards, one with the message “May the love of the Lord Jesus surround you this day and all through life.” One card held the encouraging Bible passage Psalm 121:1-2…

I lift up my eyes to the hills – from where will my help come? My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.

Looking through the photos from last year too, it’s nice to see how far we’ve come, and how our time in preparation formed a kind of bond that has kept my confirmation prep friends Annabelle and Sarah in my mind regularly, even over living distance.

For one of our best memories of the night, see my Holding Hands post.

I’ll be living in a new place next year. I wonder what I’ll be doing…

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Year On

  1. First, I would like to congrats you on beginning your journey to knowing God and His Son. It is a wonderful journey and adventure that you started. Take care to not confuse religion and the duties that comes with your training with having a wonderful relationship with our Father; through His Son.
    I’m sure the Bishop will do his best to help, but it is nothing compared to what the Father can do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

