Holding on to Hope

I finished watching the second Lord of the Rings film when I got back from work today. I tried to get into the books a couple of years ago but with no luck – didn’t like the style. I picked the DVDs up not long ago in a sale. I’m not a mega-fan of The Lord of The Rings (like I am of Harry Potter), but they do mean something to me.

I was hesitant about the films (a trilogy of 3-hour long battles), but I was surprised by them. There’s a lot more to the films than I thought there was going to be. It depicts, and is similar to Harry Potter in this way, the battle between good and evil. Humankind, elves, dwarves, hobbits and all sorts come together to fight against orks, uruk-hai – monsters conjured by Saruman (a wizard come in human form to help fight Sauron – Saruman switched sides to fight for the bad) from the Deep, from the Shadows.

And Frodo carries the Ring of power, which if in possession of would make you the most powerful being that exists. Sauron wants it back, and Frodo must destroy it to stop evil from swamping the world he inhabits.

So there’s a lot of fighting in the film. The baddies want power. The goodies try to protect their people and defeat evil.

In our current climate, I’ve been feeling rather hopeless recently. So much bad news in newspapers and world updates. War, bloodshed, judgement, suicides… I found myself thinking: “There isn’t any point in trying to help the world anymore because it’s doomed.” Not the most brilliant of attitudes to our problems eh? To just give up? Well we’ve all been there. Times are hard.

What saddens me the most is that so many people, including so many of the ones I see so often, couldn’t care less about the death and agonizing suffering going on around them. We all need to help. We all need to try to make a difference.

Gladly tonight I turned to Channel 4 News and did not hear of more bloodshed. I saw a half-hour broadcast of “the other side of Afghanistan”. It told not of fighting there, but of progress, of the people there that wanted peace. People shopping in supermarkets, families gathering to fly their kites in the sun. How glorious that was. We need to hear the good news too.

I’m holding on to hope.

Sam’s speech in the film I’ve just finished brought tears to my eyes…


“…there’s some good in this world Mr Frodo. And it’s worth fighting for.”

We’re not doomed. I think it’s probably going to be a pretty long, hard fight… but I’m holding on to hope. There is some good in this world.

Someone told me that someone wrote a book about finding God in The Lord of The Rings. I can understand that.

REMEMBER Martin Luther King…

“Returning hate for hate multiplies hate, adding deeper darkness to a night already devoid of stars. Darkness cannot drive out darkness: only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.”

This entry was posted in *Favourites*, Christianity, Deep Thinking, Love, Television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Holding on to Hope

  1. Pingback: Courage Friends | Growing up with God

Leave a Reply

