Solitude

Bramhall Park, photo/Rachael Eliz

A sunny day. I took a trip to my local park and sat down under a tall tree in a quiet place not often disturbed. A tiny, very cute dormouse scuttled past me whilst birds sang, the leaves rustling in the gentle breeze, as I tucked into learning New Testament Greek. I love to go there and to sit in the quiet, natural surroundings. Just me and God.

Our language has widely sensed the two sides of being alone. It has created the word “loneliness” to express the pain of being alone. And it has created the word “solitude” to express the glory of being alone.

I hope these words from Paul Tillich give you a greater sense of what the “solitude” I found in this day did for me.

A good day.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Photos and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Solitude

  1. alcianajohns says:

    You have a lovely way with words.
    Enjoy your learning of the Koine Greek. It is so exciting to watch the language of the New Testament open the text with it’s first words before your eyes. We started by practicing translation with the first four chapters of Mark after a while when I learned. Have you the privelidge of opening the text yet?

Leave a Reply

