Reading Retreat?

I plan to take several days and weekends of my summer break in different places on personalised retreats (and hopefully at some point I will also stay in a theological college).

On my personalised retreats, I hope to find out a lot more about who I am, who I am called to be, and to experience a level of peace in taking a vacation from my usual environment! It will be good to rest. To be still. To be quiet in a world that is so often so convinced it needs to be loud and busy.

Most of the retreats I will probably organise for myself will involve spending the day in various parks, or staying for a few days by a Cathedral and exploring.

Whilst I have pictured most of these days by lakes and under pine trees or in choral services, a quotation from Maya Angelou has led me to wonder if a ‘reading retreat’ would make a good day…

When I look back, I am so impressed again with the life-giving power of literature. If I were a young person today, trying to gain a sense of myself in the world, I would do that again by reading, just as I did when I was young.

Can’t hurt to try it. Maya Angelou is extraordinary, so I value her idea!

Meanwhile I think my first day will be soon, and very quiet. Some gazing into nature and reflecting, praying, as such…

This entry was posted in Christianity, Deep Thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

