Bah! Tumbug!

I’ve been rather ill with a tummy bug (it’s posh name is gastroenteritis – that sounds terrifying doesn’t it?!). Not a great start to the summer holidays!

Reflecting on a grumpy text I sent to a friend this afternoon, I thought of the words “Bah Tumbug” and smiled. I’m not being very Scrooge-like about being ill, but the words amused me somewhat. No-one enjoys being ill. And thankfully I’m getting better.

I then went on to look up the phrase “Bah! Tumbug!” on the internet before writing this, and found that someone called Bob had beaten me to it…

I don’t feel well… seems like a stomach bug. Perhaps it’s called the Scrooge virus; I’ve been visited by the toast of breakfast past…. Bah! Tumbug!

Brilliant. 🙂

I wouldn’t quite say I was thankful for these incredibly horrible 3 days (hence the “Bah Tumbug”) but it has taught me something. It’s taught me to love my body more and to be thankful for good health more than I am now. I’m not in particularly good health at the moment (see earlier post), but in a day or two I’ll certainly feel a lot healthier than I do currently!

Last night before falling asleep, I rubbed my moaning stomach and whispered over and over again “I love you stomach. I love you body. Be still now.” Yep. I talked to my stomach. Perhaps I was a little too dehydrated. Or perhaps I simply recognized that our bodies are an important part of ourselves in this earthly life, and need to know that they are loved just as our souls do. After a year (rather unwillingly) studying Psychology, I learnt that mental issues (particularly stress) can have a significant affect on our bodies’ well-being.

So as we learn to love ourselves by looking within ourselves, perhaps learning to love ourselves by looking in a mirror is just as important. And not just at the clothes and the hair!

1 Corinthians 6:19-20: Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, which you have from God, and that you are not your own? For you were bought with a price; therefore glorify God in your body.

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

