Breath

Are you looking for me? I am in the next seat.
My shoulder is against yours.
you will not find me in the stupas, not in Indian shrine
rooms, nor in synagogues, nor in cathedrals:
not in masses, nor kirtans, not in legs winding
around your own neck, nor ineating nothing but
vegetables.
When you really look for me, you will see me
instantly —
you will find me in the tiniest house of time.
Kabir says: Student, tell me, what is God?
He is the breath inside the breath.

I came across Kabir’s poem Breath today as I wrote a letter to a dear friend. I’ve spent the afternoon/evening dipping in and out of reading poetry, drawing, and watching Merlin. Dipping into a poetry collection I obtained many months ago, I found the poem Breath and smiled. It reminded me of the documentary I watched not long ago, and both have reminded me of God’s Spirit, God’s Love for all.

This reminder led me on to another beautiful poem. Holy Spirit, by Hildegard of Bingen…

Holy Spirit,
giving life to all life,
moving all creatures,
root of all things,
washing them clean,
wiping out their mistakes,
healing their wounds,
you are our true life,
luminous, wonderful,
awakening the heart
from its ancient sleep.

According to Wikipedia, Hildegard was a writer, composer, philosopher, Christian mystic, German Benedictine abbess, visionary, and polymath; and Kabir a mystic poet and saint of India.

Both on different continents. Both writing in different times (Kabir born in 1440, Hildegard in 1098). Both a part of different classed ‘religions’. Yet both with similar thoughts, similar philosophy, similar theology. And similar to that I have now.

Our interpretation of things can change with time. But some things are clear. God’s breath we are told right at the very beginning in Genesis is that which gave us life. (Ruach into ‘adamah.) And continues to give us life. The Holy Spirit we pray to so often to give us strength. And the Holy Spirit, God’s breath, does. And will continue to. If we remember that primarily, we need not look for God in surroundings, but rather we need to find our connections with God in our own hearts, in our own soul, in our own breath…

This entry was posted in *Favourites*, Christianity, Deep Thinking, Love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breath

  1. I love this post. It’s about what’s really important. The subject has always been dear to my heart. If you want to talk, I would love to- uragreat12@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

