Vacation

Leaving shortly for a 3 day vacation in Durham. It will be nice to have a holiday. Explore. Rest.

I use the word ‘vacation’ rather than the word ‘holiday’, because although holiday would be the English word (and I am English) and ‘vacation’ the American, whilst ‘vacation’ comes naturally to me (probably through influence of American literature and film), what’s interesting is that whereas the first translation of ‘holiday’ I came across was a day of festivity or recreation when no work is done, the first translation of ‘vacation’ I found was an extended period of recreation, esp. one spent away from home or in traveling.

Language, translations, definitions… the roots of words, understanding, meaning, have become more and more fascinating to me as time goes by. I wonder now, if this extended period of recreation spent away from home will lead me to preview my next one…

This entry was posted in Deep Thinking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

