Love in a Time of Riots

Video of riot here.

Photographer Rich Lam writes:
I was covering last night’s Stanley Cup Playoffs for Getty Images when Vancouver erupted in riots after the Canucks’ Game 7 loss to the Boston Bruins. It was complete chaos. Rioters set two cars on fire and then I saw looters break the window at a neighboring department store. At that point, the riot police charged right towards us. After I stopped running, I noticed in the space behind the line of police that two people were laying in the street with the riot police and a raging fire just beyond them. I knew I had captured a “moment” when I snapped the still forms against the backdrop of such chaos but it wasn’t until later when I returned to the rink to file my photos that my editor pointed out that the two people were not hurt, but kissing.

We turn on the news and 99% of it is bad news. So much darkness is shown that often it seems like there is not enough light. But as we pray in my Home Parish Church if we individually light a candle, we are reminded that it takes the light from one small flame to let the darkness know it cannot win. After seeing the recent photograph Love in a Time of Riots on a ‘photographs of the week’ reel, I saw the interview of the couple, and how he said they had been hit by policemen and he was calming her, caring for her amidst the chaos. They had walked into the scene by accident, but still got hit. That reminds me of how wars, hate can affect people. A fight between two can escalate into a fight between hundreds. Emotions spread. While anger spreads, love can spread too. This photograph inspires the latter to be the choice we must work for across all peoples. I find that this photograph seems to give understanding to that prayer in the lighting of candles. The love. The hope. The light. The way, the truth, the life…

This entry was posted in Love, Photos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

