Hush

Recently returned from our Eucharist this evening of Maundy Thursday, in which we celebrate our Saviour’s love for us. The first of the Triduum (“The Three Sacred Days”). With parents in Scotland, I have the house to myself. Except for the company of my dog Lucy, who I have to hush from barking every now and then. But when I do, she barks in grumbles and then slumps happily under my stroking hand to be content and quiet in my company. Thankfully!

Now there’s a great advantage to be living without my parents at present. It’s so quiet. So still. Most people watch television, but I prefer the hush of a still, calm night. When I came back from the service I lay myself down on the bench in my back garden for about half an hour, and just listened to the sound of the air, the cool breeze, and watched the stars in the sky, the deep sea of ever-expanding possibility on a horizon with no line. Peace.

And so we come: O draw us to thy feet, most patient Saviour, who canst love us still; and by this food, so aweful and so sweet, deliver us from every touch of ill: in thine own service make us glad and free, and grant us never more to part with thee.

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, as I have loved you. – John 13:34

A great sermon from Revd Ann this evening reminded us that loving one another, listening to one another, helping one another, not only makes those people happy, but is what makes us most happy too. Together, listening to Jesus’ message of love and community, we can be a happy, free people. If we love one another.

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Love, Sermon Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

