Spring

Yesterday the bus transporting me from college broke down and I spent rather a long time sunbathing on a grassy lawn under an oak tree with a friend as we waited for another bus to come and rescue us. And a lovely walk back to my house in the late evening with the birds singing.

Today, a sunny day again with a bus that arrived on time (although going in the wrong direction at one point) got me to my home-town early, and I spent the late afternoon sitting on some steps and moving around the local area to bird-watch, squirrel-watch and spot the earliest flowers growing nearby.

There’s a wonderful sense of fulfillment and happiness in the new beginning of a sunny spring. It’s been a long winter. I’ll be glad of a bit of t-shirt weather and wildlife and colourful surroundings of new-born or returning creative beauty. A bit less grey and a bit more blue, and yellow, and green.

Watching the squirrel stop by my feet this morning and catch my eye as I sat cross-legged on the floor, I could almost hear him saying, “me too.”

[photos not mine]

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

