Acoustic Love

Lovely lunch again. No Eddie this time, but accompanied by the sun and a can of coke! And again, that glorious music coming from the crowd on the lawn behind me. I didn’t want to disturb them, hidden away behind the wall listening to their music-making. Guitar, ukulele and singing together.

I love acoustic music.

I’ve done similar things creating music with friends in the past from high school, and I remember being part of the percussion section of the primary school mini-orchestra too. Band in primary school was great, but high school piano and singing, and especially acoustic guitars (I played), ukuleles (I loved listening to), harmonicas (I loved listening to) and singing (I occasionally took part in) were the greatest moments. Music has been and still is such a big part of my life.

And today as I sat at lunch, I was reminded yet again that sometimes you don’t have to be doing anything in particular to enjoy the music. There are sounds all around you. You don’t have to be making one yourself. You just have to connect, be open, ephphatha, to your surroundings, and listen…

πŸ™‚

I love this:

…words on the page become Scripture when their melodies and rhythms are sculpted before us; when it is read or sung or signed in the voices of the prophets, the crowds, the disciples and the eternal Word – and then lived out in the lives of all who have received it. Scripture makes musicians of all of us, and, just as in the real music world there are sopranos and cellists, conductors and improvisers, rappers and composers, so we will not all play the same instrument or sing the same song. There will be times when we are asked to rest, to be silent, to allow another voice to be heard. But if we don’t sing or play the part we have uniquely been given, someone else will miss their cue.

– Our Sound is Our Wound pg 18, Lucy Winkett

This entry was posted in Book Quotes, Christianity, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Acoustic Love

  1. Jaclyn Rae says:

    I love that Lucy Winkett quote and your description of a glorious day πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

