Secret Garden

I found myself unable to choose between the following two songs from the artist Secret Garden. And so this week there are two Songs of the Week!

A lot of people ask me how I find the music that I do. Maybe it is simply my technique, what I type in to various search engines, which radio stations I listen to, which film soundtracks I come across, or maybe it is in fact God who directs me to them. I find God brings beautiful things into our lives every day, and so often with me, through poetry in music. All we have to do is listen, and let God guide us. Then, as we live, we find beauty and peace. From the beautiful words of Fionnulala Sherry and Rolf Lovland, if we listen with our hearts we can hear the earth silently singing.
As the new Church year begins, the first Sunday of Advent inspires us to ‘awaken’ in a spiritual sense, to see what is truly important and what we truly need in our lives. We are rich, but of course it is the richness not of material wealth, but of love which we must always remember to recognize, and which we find blesses us every single day, in moments known and unknown, in moments remembered and forgotten. God is always there, with his arms opened wide, with a smile, with an enfolding embrace.
God is love.

Lay down your head
And I’ll sing you a lullaby
Back to the years
Of loo-li,lai-ley
And I’ll sing you to sleep
And I’ll sing you tomorrow
Bless you with love
For the road that you go

May you sail fair
To the far fields of fortune
With diamonds and pearls
At your head and your feet
And may you need never
To banish misfortune
May you find kindness
In all that you meet

May there always be angels
To watch over you
To guide you each step of the way
To guard you and keep you
Safe from all harm
Loo-li,loo-li,lai-ley

May you bring love
And may you bring happiness
Be loved in return
To the end your days
Now fall of to sleep
I’m not meaning to keep you
I’ll just sit for a while
And sing
Loo-li,lai-ley

May there always be angels
To watch over you
To guide you each step of the way
To guard you and keep you
Safe from all harm
Loo-li,loo-li,lai-ley
Loo-li,loo-li,lai-ley

Let your arms enfold us
Through the dark of night
Will your angels hold us
Till we see the light

Hush, lay down your troubled mind
The day has vanished and left us behind
And the wind, whispering soft lullabies
Will soothe, so close your weary eyes

Let your arms enfold us
Through the dark of night
Will your angels hold us
Till we see the light

Sleep, angels will watch over you
And soon beautiful dreams will come true
Can you feel spirits embracing your soul
So dream while secrets of darkness unfold

Let your arms enfold us
Through the dark of night
Will your angels hold us
Till we see the light

Let your arms enfold us
Through the dark of night
Will your angels hold us
Till we see the light

This entry was posted in Christianity, Deep Thinking, Love, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

