Future Generations

Please take time to read the latest BBC News article on student fees protest or/and watch the video below.

I’m a student.
My reaction to the cuts was outrage and sorrow.
But my reaction to this video has cut even more deeply.
I was invited to this event but didn’t go. Probably a wise decision.

A look at my generation… looks bad.

A stereotypical teenager to thousands is that of a hooded youth hanging on street corners humphing.
And a sterotypical politican to thousands is that of someone in a suit who is out to demoralize teenagers and ruin everyone’s lives.

What do I see?

I see a band of adults struggling to bring the world back into shape, I see a band of teenagers struggling to understand why their education must suffer, and I see a world in unavoidable crisis.

I do implore that education should be made less expensive or at least not more expensive than it already was.
Why?
Not just because I’m a student and it soon approaches for me, but because every single person of my age or around my age whom I have spoken to is so very demoralized and angry.
One said, what is the point? One said, I can’t afford to live. One of the most painful responses was, I don’t have a chance anymore. My future is hopeless now.

Oh dear generation. I of course understand. I’m within this generation. It’s coming for me and I understand what you’re going through.

And dear adults whom all my people are so frustrated with, do not fight fire with fire.
Take this video not as a further stereotype, but as a realisation. Understand that the future generations are running out of hope. Unless we’re A* students and rich we fail to see our chances in the adult world now.
Adults, politicans, Mr David Cameron, please. To use that so often heard phrase, we are the future.

Looking at the video my response to we are the future is… eek.

What to do.

As a suggestion from my good friend Margorie Tang, we should have more political education in schools. I for one at 16 have had no political education in my life. I have no idea how to complete a tax form or how credit cards work. I have no idea. And I’m 16. I tried to figure out politics for myself but it took me ages, it was so very difficult, and it still doesn’t make that much sense to me.

I personally suggest that adults and teenagers should communicate much more than they do now.
I talk to many adults and get such a broader outlook on the world.

If we all did this it would help the future generations greatly.

Communication is key!

And fellow teenagers.
Please.
Don’t turn to violence.
Don’t fight their fire with your fire.
Their prices burn us yes. But we must not become what everyone expects us to become, what the world needs least of all.
For the future world and for the world which we will live in, we must live in love.
We must not turn to scornful hate and reject all that they say.
Yes we must make our voices heard.
But there are hundreds of way to do this, and I implore you to remember who you are.
Remember how everything was before.
Remember everything that we are dreaming of.
Remember the love that we must share with the rest of the world.
Remember the changes we must make.
Remember to love.

Our future is not hopeless. Do not despair.
Sure it’s complicated and looks difficult. Really difficult. But there isn’t a way around that right now, and if there’s a chance for the future we need to work towards it. One day, I am sure, things will change. The world is forever changing.
But act not in scorn. Not in violence. Not in hate.

Always in love.

Because that’s what the future needs. The future needs love.
Remember that.

Act not to fight fire with fire.

Act, always, in love.

This entry was posted in *Favourites*, Christianity, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Future Generations

  1. Paul says:

    Well put Rachael. I share so many of your concerns. I do not necessarily disagree with tuition fees but when added onto the ridiculous cost of living and property prices how are people like you supposed to get a start in life ? Imagine what it is like for those who do not have a university education and are seeking work. Many of these jobs no longer exist. eg: Engineering Apprenticeships. We are living in a very divided society. How can the Christian Church in tandem with other faiths address this issue ?

  2. Rachael Eliz says:

    Indeed that is a million-dollar question!
    There are so many difficulties amongst so very many different situations.
    As of yet all I can suggest is that we don’t just let it happen and use our voices. Somehow we have to help… maybe I could make friends with Archbishop Rowan and get him to preach about it on national television! That would be good wouldn’t it! 🙂

    Keep thinking and pray for new hope!

    Rachael Eliz

Leave a Reply

