Enjoy The Rain

I can’t believe I’ve never seen this before!
Absolutely brilliant. šŸ™‚
And a truly fine way of enjoying our rainy weather.

I have to say I did something similar to that once before not so long ago… if anyone in my town remembers when it rained so much part of the village flooded, I was wrapped up warm inside, looked out the window, and thought… I’m not missing out on this.
So out I went with a pair of 3/4 trousers, a t-shirt and a hat alike that which fishermen wear. Yep, I looked insane. BUT it was so much fun and I smiled so much and laughed so much and splashed around it so much that it was absolutely terrific.

And walking back from church today in the rain I twirled my umbrella round and sang and twirled round in circles a couple of times, remembering the last words spoken to me, keep smiling for me, and with a smile on my face I walked off into the patch of grey clouds hovering above the direction in which my house lay.

I again reflect and remember walking after a particularly wet high school day into the opposite direction of my house without a jumper or a coat and humming and skipping and talking to a friend who alike me loved the rain.
It was one of the moments in my life where I felt most free.
And our other friend then was screaming with an umbrella over her head calling us lunatics convinced that the world would end if the water hit a single spot of her. Oh how I smiled, oh how I giggled. šŸ˜€

Enjoy the rain.
Sometimes we get soaked walking in it, sometimes we keep dry or still get soaked walking in it underneath our umbrellas.
But enjoy the rain.

God is in the sunshine and the rain. Take for example that of Acts 14:17:

Yet he proved he is real by showing kindness, by giving you rain from heaven and crops at the right times, by giving you food and filling your hearts with joy.

If it’s from heaven it must be good!
I love the rain and I find it so very refreshing.
Sure we got a heck of a lot of here in North West England, but then surely by all means we should be used to it and adapt to it as a greatly pleasurable part of our day!

So frequently after high school people would see me walking away from my house and back past the school around half 4 when everyone piled out from detention or clubs, and they’d ask me where I was going and what on earth I was doing. The majority of people I met thought I was a complete idiot. Surely I had better things to do.
And certainly on many an occasion I spent too long in the rain and spent too little time studying. But if you get the balance right… it really tops off your day.

To become completely at one with nature and its many different forms.
To see the trees grow, the leaves fall and grow afresh in the spring, blossoming brightly in the summer, to touch the branches of the bramble bushes and the hedgerows, to spot the butterflies and the owls and the robins, to feel the wind upon your skin and to experience a profound sense of peace which we need to have so much more of in our lives.
As I have said before, the stillness speaks.
The still small voice… the peaceful escape into pure bliss, into nature, into a joyful, astonishingly alive feeling and presence of the one we need to find there within our hearts, within our veins, surrounding our very beings and all that lies around us. Finding the home of a different sort. The home of the kingdom of God.
The moments we can never understand unless we have them, unless we experience them in our lives.

So I must ask you, implore you, to enjoy the rain.

With love and peace always, even if I don’t always put it at the end of my blog posts,
Rachael Elizabeth x

This entry was posted in Bible (passages and study), Christianity, Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

