A Touching Place / Christ’s Is The World

For someone who loves music so much I don’t know why it’s taken me this long to get ‘Spotify’.

I’ve been informed that, as I have done, if you download it while it’s still September it’s completely free for the rest of your life! You can listen to 20 hours of music each day, and now that I have it I’ve found so much of the music I could not find anywhere else to listen to, and I can buy it from there if I wish also so that I can put it onto my iPod, although I haven’t done that yet so I don’t know how it works!

I finally found a beautiful rendition of one of my dearly loved dearly favourited hymns, ‘A Touching Place’ otherwise known as ‘Christ’s Is The World’ (hymn#101 to people at my church!).

I highly recommend both Spotify and the hymn sung beautifully from Reading Phoenix Choir on an album many of you may already know… Song Of Iona.
I remember the first time I heard this hymn, I was sat in church on the back row on the left side on the end seat on the right… and it was a communion hymn. June tried to talk to me but all I could do was ask her in a whisper what the hymn was called.

One of the most beautiful moments of my life.
Of course depending on how you define beauty… haha. 😀

(I’m sure there’s another line in verse 2 but can’t figure out what I’m missing!)

1. Christ’s is the world in which we move.
Christ’s are the folk we’re summoned to love,
Christ’s is the voice which calls us to care,
and Christ is the One who meets us here.

Refrain: To the lost Christ shows his face;
to the unloved He gives His embrace;
to those who cry in pain or disgrace,
Christ, makes, with His friends, a touching place.

2. Feel for the people we most avoid.
Strange or bereaved or never employed;
fear that their living is all in vain.

3. Feel for the parents who lost their child,
feel for the woman whom men have defiled.
Feel for the baby for whom there’s no breast,
and feel for the weary who find no rest.

4. Feel for the lives by life confused.
Riddled with doubt, in loving abused;
Feel for the lonely heart, conscious of sin,
which longs to be pure but fears to begin.

This entry was posted in Christianity, Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Touching Place / Christ’s Is The World

  1. Louise says:

    Yes, the missing line is, “Feel for the women and feel for the men …”

Leave a Reply

