Tragedy in Suffering

It’s the anniversary of 9/11, and even though I am English and I was very young at the time, I remember the day. I remember where I was when I heard the news.

I reflected on the day, watching the news tributes, listening to the music of Craig Armstrong.

I recalled saying goodbye to someone 2 days ago at a forced farewell.
I recalled passing bad news to someone over the phone trying to stay strong, trying not to cry.
I recalled my Religion class only a few days ago, when we had to answer the question:
How can there be a God where there is so much suffering in the world?
I recalled my answer:

So many people don’t believe in God because of the suffering in the world.
So many people blame God.

But it isn’t God’s fault.
If we take a minute to look at our lives, we see that we spend our money on iPods, DVDs, the latest brand of trainers… we worry about if we’ve cooked too much food for a party and if we’ve brushed our hair well enough.
We have houses with radiators and cupboards full of food… things we don’t even use.
To think if we all stopped for a moment and saw this, joined together and gave money we spend on leisure and pleasure to people who need it to live, to survive… if we all did this, there would be hardly any suffering left in the end. We would be equals.
We keep blaming God for suffering… but it’s not his fault.
People can be so selfish and never see it. And I’m not saying I’m innocent.

As for natural disasters, we screwed up the world by burning everything and creating ‘global warming’.

And there are people who do bad things in the world.
But as Sirius Black once wisely quoted,
“The world isn’t split into good people and death-eaters. We all have light and dark inside us. What matters is the part we choose to act upon. That’s what makes us who we really are.”
God gave us free will.
And there are always times when people use that freedom for terrible things.
But if God had not given us free will, what would be the point in living?
There are some people who turn away completely from God, and good people suffer. But we stand strong with God, in the knowledge that we are loved, that we are saved, and with forgiveness, maybe one day these people can turn around and live in the light as well.

The world’s in a bad way. God didn’t create it like this. He gave us free will and Christ suffered and died for us that we may live. We made the world the way it is.
It’s not God’s fault. If it’s anyone’s, it’s our own.

May God have mercy on us.

Last year I tried so hard to try to change the world that I ended up hurting myself. I spent all my time seeing the suffering in the world, hearing people’s cries, listening to their stories of sadness, of abuse. I saw their bruises. I saw one boy of 8 who had had his arm removed. I gave 5 speeches to 1500 people in an attempt to get people to see the horrors in the Cote D’Ivoire, and how millions of children were being abused and killed, trafficked there to work, taken away from their families. I was overcome by tragedy and suffering and I took the world upon myself. Even in my dreams I couldn’t get my head away from the suffering in the world.
I was desperate to get the word out to people that we needed to change. But I wouldn’t let myself rest.
That was dangerous to my health… and I realised how obsessed I was getting with it all. I took a step back and realised I needed to take care of myself too. I realised that God was happy I cared but that he didn’t want me to lose myself.
I saw God. I saw how God was working. I saw how many people were helping, and I realised I’d been thinking all wrong.
One person can make a difference… but one person can’t save the world. Not a human anyway!
It’s if we all join together.
If we come together we can make a huge difference.
I’ll always be proud to say alongside millions that I’m a part of the organization ‘Stop The Traffik’.
But in anything, not just ‘Stop The Traffik’, that’s exactly it.
It’s not ‘it’s God’s fault’.
If we wanted to make a difference, truly, then we’d open our eyes and see that we have so much more than we need. That if we shared amongst God’s people and loved one another, seeing what we truly need and what other people truly need, we could help stop the suffering. And when people need us, we shouldn’t blame God. Because we could easily make a difference if we got together and did something big! How can we blame God if we aren’t willing to get out of our seats and do something ourselves? Then it’s us to blame. We in the rich countries used to use them as slaves. We still do in the shadows. We left them for poor, yet half the time they seem so much happier than us.
Why?
Because they aren’t blinded by treasures like XBoxes. They see the light.
But we can change things.
WE THE PEOPLE!!!

We lose ourselves in suffering sometimes. We all get sad. In all the different tragedies there is so much pain, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t a God. It means we’re losing the light. It means we aren’t looking. We aren’t listening.
He’s always there. We can’t rely on God to do everything in our lives. He does a heck of a lot sure, but we have to do things as well. Free will remember? 🙂

There is so very much suffering.
There is so very much tragedy.
There is so very much loss.

Yet there is so very much compassion.
So very much friendship.
So very much love.

We choose to be tainted or to be innocent.
And we know to be innocent is always the best way to live. Even though it’s so hard sometimes to try to get there and to keep on track.

The tragedy is… it is always the innocent who suffer the most.
And yet.
Is it not a better life?

God Bless,
I hope one day, we will be a united world.
Rachael Eliz

This entry was posted in *Favourites*, Christianity, Deep Thinking, Harry Potter, Love and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

