Abide With Me & Sanctus

And there was me thinking I wasn’t going to post tonight.
As the evening drew to a close, I flicked on Premier Christian Radio to hear this hymn, and searching for it online, I came across this beautiful version from the St Paul Cathedral Choir.
Abide With Me.
The words are fantastic… see the poetry… it is beautiful.
I know that sometimes it is hard to make out the words if you don’t know what they are so I have inserted them below.
I hope dearly that you like this hymn as I do.
There are other verses which are not included this version and I should note that at the end of Abide With Me another hymn is included in this video which I also loved to hear but I cannot supply you with the words as I have not yet found them.
It is Sanctus – from Deutsche Messe D872 Franz Schubert
Enjoy…

Abide with me; fast falls the eventide;
The darkness deepens; Lord with me abide.
When other helpers fail and comforts flee,
Help of the helpless, O abide with me.

Swift to its close ebbs out life’s little day;
Earth’s joys grow dim; its glories pass away;
Change and decay in all around I see;
O Thou who changest not, abide with me.

I need Thy presence every passing hour.
What but Thy grace can foil the tempter’s power?
Who, like Thyself, my guide and stay can be?
Through cloud and sunshine, Lord, abide with me.

I fear no foe, with Thee at hand to bless;
Ills have no weight, and tears no bitterness.
Where is death’s sting? Where, grave, thy victory?
I triumph still, if Thou abide with me.

Hold Thou Thy cross before my closing eyes;
Shine through the gloom and point me to the skies.
Heaven’s morning breaks, and earth’s vain shadows flee;
In life, in death, O Lord, abide with me.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………

I found the words for the Sanctus (which is in German in this song but I’ve put the english next to it for you):

Heilig, heilig, heilig, heilig ist der Herr! (Holy, holy, holy, holy is the Lord!)
Heilig, heilig, heilig, heilig ist nur er! (Holy, holy, holy, holy is he alone!)
Er, der nie begonnen, er, der immer war, (He who had no beginning, he who ever was,)
ewig ist und waltet, sein wird immer dar. (is eternal and rules, and will for ever.)

Heilig, heilig, heilig, heilig ist der Herr! (Holy, holy, holy, holy is the Lord!)
Heilig, heilig, heilig, heilig ist nur er! (Holy, holy, holy, holy is he alone!)
Allmacht, Wunder, Liebe, alles rings umher! (Almighty, wonder, love everywhere!)
Heilig, heilig, heilig, heilig ist der Herr! (Holy, holy, holy, holy is the Lord!)

This entry was posted in Christianity, Music, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Abide With Me & Sanctus

  1. Beautiful work! Keep them coming!

  2. Rachael Eliz says:

    The Sanctus words have been added now.

  3. rcottrill says:

    It was your reference to “Abide with Me” that caught my eye this morning. The author, Henry Lyte, preached his last sermon on this date 163 years ago. If you’d like to learn a bit more about him and his hymn, I invite you to check out my daily hymn blog, Wordwise Hymns, for today.

Leave a Reply

