Not distracted, just living – Lesson Learnt

It took me a while to learn the lesson that you don’t need to be focusing your life around God all the time. It took me a while to learn that you aren’t wasting your life by reading fiction books or writing fantasy stories or going out with friends and chatting about just about anything.
Especially as a teenager who is about to go to college, I’ve learnt that it is important to take time to break from studies or work and to spend some time in relaxation.

It’s taken me a long time to learn that. I started to realise that I needed a break from my studies but didn’t know if it was right for me to do that and I was struggling with myself for a while, telling myself to keep going because I’d be wasting time. But recalling words of bishops and reverends I’ve met, the greatest sin in life is to not live life to the full.
And also, I have always believed that we can trust that God will bring about all that is needed in our lives … And that means that as well as all your studying, learning, and willingness to give so much of yourself there should also be some time today simply to relax and to enjoy the sunshine (or the rain! :).

And now it’s all finally sunk in.
I think part of what was so hard for me to understand it all was because of my father on earth. Because he thinks I’m wasting my life in Christianity and gets irritated if he catches me spending time learning or studying anything to do with my faith, even if it’s just for 5 minutes.
And I think when it came down to it, I wanted my heavenly father to be proud of me. I didn’t want him to think I was wasting my life as well… so I found it hard to let go for a while and allow myself to live life and relax as what I currently am: a teenager on summer break.

But I’ve been thinking and praying hard about it, and I’ve realised that what I’ve always wanted from my birth father, I’ve been trying too hard to have that from my heavenly father. I never want to let him down, so I went a bit overboard.
But I’ve realised that as I want my birth father to be proud of me, or at least see that I’m happy and accept me, my heavenly father does all of those things.
And he wouldn’t want me to be working all the time, because he created us, loves us, and wants us to be happy.
Whether that means reading the latest Twilight book or going to a rock concert, we all have to live life to the full. We all have to be happy and enjoy life, because that’s what our heavenly father wants.

To have fun in other ways doesn’t mean you’re going to be wasting time, it means that you’re taking well deserved breaks to enjoy life in God’s world and to see it! To enjoy it. To be it.
If that makes sense.

He wants us to be happy.
I’m not suggesting we go off and one and wake up on bouncy castles every night… or do anything else all the time either.
As long as we don’t forget who we are, as long as we remember God, as long as we are who we are and are happy, God loves us.
And when it’s time for you to get back to whatever it is he wants you to do, he’ll make it clear to you in one way or another!

Lesson learnt.
🙂

Peace & Love always,
Rachael Eliz

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

