Eagle Lectern

For quite a long time I’ve been asking myself, Why is the lectern in my church an eagle?
And I finally asked someone about it, so today I found out.
I was talking to a woman named Margaret who has been at my church since 1948 (wow :D), and she told me all about the history.
I learnt that the lectern is an eagle which is standing on a circle which represents the world, and because the eagle is the biggest bird we knew (at the time) and we put the Bible onto it, it symbolises that we are taking/carrying the Bible, or more specifically, the Gospel, to people all over the world.
And that’s why the lectern in my church is an eagle.
Now I know, now you know (if you didn’t already that is) 🙂
With Peace & Love always,
Rachael Eliz
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

